CyberSolutions: Temporarily Deactivate & Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Temporarily Deactivate & Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

How To Deactivate Your Facebook Account

The first thing you'll need to do to deactivate your Facebook account – that's temporarily deleting your account as explained above – is log in.
Navigate to the account settings page by clicking the arrow on the far right of the blue bar that runs along the top of your Facebook page. Click settings, and you'll see the 'General Account Settings' page. You want to be on the 'Security Settings' page, so click 'Security' in the navigation menu on the left.
At the bottom of the 'Security Settings' page, you'll find the 'Deactivate your account' link. Click it, and you'll be faced with a page that basically serves the purpose of trying to convince you to stay. You'll see a selection of friends that Facebook thinks will miss you, but if you're still sure you want to deactivate your account, you'll need to look past that.
You're required to tell Facebook why you're leaving, which can range from privacy concerns to a lack of understanding of Facebook or the confession that you spend too much time using it.
If you're the sole admin of any Facebook Pages, they'll be deactivated unless you choose to pass on your admin duties to a friend. You can do so by clicking the 'Edit Admins' button presented here.
Finally, we'd advise you to tick the 'Email opt out' option. Otherwise, you'll run the risk of getting event invites and more clogging up your inbox.
Now, all that's left to do is click 'Confirm' and your account will be deactivated. Remember, logging back in to Facebook like normal will reactivate your account.

How To Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

If you've decided that you want to permanently delete your Facebook account, you'll need to go about things slightly differently. Visit Facebook's Delete Account page (click here) and log in (if haven't already).
You'll then need to click "Delete my account," but please make sure that you're absolutely certain that you don't ever want to revisit your Facebook account again.

No comments :

Post a Comment